Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

McTeague

A Story of San Francisco

McTeague( )
Author: Norris, Frank
Introduction by: Solomon, Eric
Afterword by: Passaro, Vincent
ISBN:978-0-451-53197-1
Publication Date:Dec 2011
Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group
Imprint:Signet
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $7.95
Book Description:

A lesser-known American classic, McTeague explores the darker side of success and the pitfalls of marriage for a turn-of-the-century couple. McTeague is the story of a poor dentist scraping by in San Francisco at the end of the 19th century, and his wife Trina, whose $5,000 lottery winning sets in motion a shocking chain of events. Fans of Jack London and Theodore Dreiser will appreciate the richly crafted prose and the historically accurate...
More Description

Book Details
Pages:384
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Psychological
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):4.2 x 6.8 x 1 Inches
Book Weight:0.475 Pounds
Author Biography
Norris, Frank (Author)
Considered one of the leading pioneers in American Naturalism, Frank Norris is read and studied for his vivid and honest depiction of life at the beginning of a lusty and developing new century. Born in Chicago, he moved to San Francisco with his well-to-do family when he was 14 and went on to attend the University of California and Harvard University before becoming a war correspondent in South Africa and Cuba. His early apprentice work consisted mostly of rather unremarkable adventure stories, but with the long-gestating McTeague: A Story of San Francisco (1899), he struck a new note. That powerful study of avarice in a seedy section of the Bay Area may well be Norris's masterpiece.

The Octopus (1901), the first of Norris's projected Epic of the Wheat series, deals with the raising of wheat in California and the struggle of ranchers against the railroads, while The Pit (1903) is a novel about speculation on the Chicago wheat exchange. Unfortunately, Norris died suddenly after an operation for appendicitis.

Like Stephen Crane, a writer with whom Norris is frequently compared, Norris died too young to fulfill his considerable promise, but he has more than held his own ground among turn-of-the-century writers whose works have lived. One reason may be that he took his craft as a writer seriously, as is shown by his posthumously published Responsibilities of the Novelist and Other Literary Essays (1903) and The Literary Criticism of Frank Norris, edited by Donald Pizer.

020



Featured Books

The Water Dancer
Coates, Ta-Nehisi
Electronic book text:
To the Lighthouse
Woolf, Virginia
Paperback: $12.00
Northanger Abbey
Austen, Jane
Paperback: $39.99

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.