Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands

Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands( )
Author: Amado, Jorge
Translator: De Onis, Harriet
ISBN:978-0-380-01796-6
Publication Date:Nov 1977
Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $7.99
Book Description:

"In this second marriage there was no wooing, and this was as it should be, for it does not look right for a widow to be lovemaking in a corner or the doorway, cuddling, hugging, kissing, embracing, touching here, touching there, hand on breasts, slipping down to thigh." "Poetic, comic, human" is how The Washington Post hailed Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands, the international classic by Jorge Amado, Brazil's foremost novelist. This captivating fable celebrates heated passions,...
More Description

Book Details
Pages:640
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / General
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):4.187 x 6.75 x 1.28 Inches
Book Weight:0.655 Pounds
Author Biography
Amado, Jorge (Author)
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912.

Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.

020



Featured Books

I Owe You One
Kinsella, Sophie
Hardback: $27.00
Nanaville
Quindlen, Anna
Hardback: $26.00
Lost Children Archive
Luiselli, Valeria
Hardback: $27.95

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.