Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands

Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands( )
Author: Amado, Jorge
Translator: De Onis, Harriet
Series title:Vintage International Ser.
ISBN:978-0-307-27664-3
Publication Date:Sep 2006
Publisher:Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint:Vintage
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $16.95
Book Description:

The book focuses on the pathology of transplantation in the kidney, liver, lungs, heart, pancreas and small intestine. Coverage addresses complications common across a range of transplants, as well as detailed manifestations of rejection in each organ.

Book Details
Pages:576
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / General
Fiction / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):5.18 x 7.94 x 1.26 Inches
Book Weight:0.975 Pounds
Author Biography
Amado, Jorge (Author)
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912.

Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.

020



Featured Books

Nanaville
Quindlen, Anna
Hardback: $26.00
Run Away
Coben, Harlan
Electronic book text:
There There
Orange, Tommy
Paperback: $16.00

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.