Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

Doña Flor y Sus Dos Maridos

Historia Moral y de Amor

Doña Flor y Sus Dos Maridos( )
Author: Amado, Jorge
Translator: Sato, Amalia
ISBN:978-0-307-27955-2
Publication Date:Jun 2008
Publisher:Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint:Vintage Espanol
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $15.95
Book Description:

¿Es posible que una mujer ame a dos hombres al mismo tiempo? A nadie sorprende cuando el encantador pícaro Vadinho dos Guimares--empedernido jugador y mujeriego incorregible--muere durante el carnaval. Su desconsolada esposa se dedica a la cocina y a sus amigas, hasta que conoce al joven doctor Teodoro y decide asentarse. Pero después de la boda, pasionalmente insatisfecha, Doña Flor empieza a soñar con las atenciones amorosas de su primer marido....
More Description

Book Details
Pages:480
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / Humorous / General
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):5.2 x 8 x 1 Inches
Book Weight:0.962 Pounds
Author Biography
Amado, Jorge (Author)
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912.

Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.

020



Featured Books

The Night Tiger
Choo, Yangsze
Electronic book text:
I Was Anastasia
Lawhon, Ariel
Paperback: $16.00
Good to Go
Aschwanden, Christie
Hardback: $27.95

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.