Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands

Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands( )
Author: Amado, Jorge
Translator: Onis, Harriet de
Series title:Five Star Fiction Ser.
ISBN:978-1-85242-710-8
Publication Date:Jul 2007
Publisher:Serpent's Tail Limited
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:AUD $24.95
Book Description:

When Dona Flor's husband dies suddenly, she forgets all his defects and remembers only his passion. Erotic nightmares haunt her. Dr Teodoro, a local pharmacist, proposes marriage and Dona Flor accepts, hoping to recapture the ecstasy she now craves. One night, her first husband materializes naked at the foot of her bed, eager to reclaim his conjugal rights. The visit is the first of many, as Dona Flor, racked by desire but reluctant to betray the upright pharmacist, responds to the...
More Description

Book Details
Pages:560
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / General
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):12.9 x 19.7 x 3.5 cm
Book Weight:0.449 Kilograms
Author Biography
Amado, Jorge (Author)
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912.

Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.

020



Featured Books

The Sun Is Also a Star
Yoon, Nicola
Paperback: $12.99
Lost Children Archive
Luiselli, Valeria
Hardback: $27.95
The Happiness Project
Rubin, Gretchen
Paperback: $19.99

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.